Acclaimed Former Band of Horses Singer-Songwriter and Guitarist Offers Striking Covers and One Re-imagined Original on Brand-New EP

Singer-songwriter and guitarist Tyler Ramsey today released Found A Picture Of You, a 6-track EP featuring an unusual collection of carefully chosen cover songs and one re-made original. Earlier this week, Relix premiered Tyler’s moving interpretation of Jules Shear’s “All Through The Night” along with an intimate performance video shot at his home outside of Asheville, NC – watch HERE.  “All Through The Night,” originally made famous by Cyndi Lauper in 1984, features background vocals and guitar from My Morning Jacket’s Carl Broemel. Previously Tyler shared two songs from the new EP, his dazzling cover of the Pretenders’ classic “Back On The Chain Gang,” which Guitar Player hailed as “brilliantly unique,” and his sublime cover of The Innocence Mission’s “Tomorrow On The Runway”. Additionally, American Songwriter recently gave Found A Picture Of You 4 out of 5 stars asserting, “his supple sound and quiet, contemplative mindset fully comes to the fore.”

Purchase/Listen To Found A Picture Of You EP HERE 

Tyler Ramsey on Jules Shear’s “All Through The Night”: “Years ago, I became friends with Jules Shear when he briefly moved here to Asheville, North Carolina. I was taken by his voice and songs and realized over time just how many songs he had written that were a big part of my life. In 2019 I did a couple of duo tours with my friend Carl Broemel, and he started playing this song with me each night. Carl’s guitar playing and singing elevate everything he plays on. I was happy to be able to record this with him and catch some of what we were finding each night we were able to play together on tour. And then of course there is Cyndi Lauper! Growing up with her hits playing on the radio…. Her voice and presence have been inspiring to me always.”

Produced by Tyler Ramsey and recorded & mixed by (former Band of Horses bassist) Bill Reynolds at Fleetwood Shack in Nashville, TN, Found A Picture Of You is Tyler’s first release since For The Morning, the North Carolinian’s acclaimed debut for Fantasy in 2019. While Tyler’s brilliant fingerstyle playing is the EP’s musical foundation, the five cover songs (all intriguingly written and/or made famous by female artists) have been so compellingly re-imagined, it is like you are hearing them for the first time ever. 

Along with the aforementioned covers of The Innocence Mission’s “Tomorrow on the Runway” (which features harmony vocals by Thad Cockrell), Jules Shear’s “All Through the Night,” and The Pretenders’ “Back on the Chain Gang,” (which features harmonies by Nashville-based artist Annie Williams), the EP also includes “Shake Sugaree,” the country-blues treasure by blues/folk legend (and fellow Carolinian) Elizabeth Cotten (with Billy Alletzhauser on electric guitar and harmony vocals alongside Tyler’s daughter, Sylvie Opal Ramsey) and “When You Go,” a beautifully rendered ballad of aching love and acceptance penned by singer-songwriter Jennie Lowe Stearns (which features Rayna Gellert on fiddle and Carl Broemel on pedal steel and backing vocals.) Found A Picture Of You is rounded out with a newly updated version of Tyler’s gorgeous “1000 Black Birds,” which first appeared on his 2011 album, The Valley Wind, featuring background vocals from singer-songwriter (and Fantasy Records labelmate) Avi Kaplan and Jeremy and Jonathan Lister. 

Found A Picture Of You EP Track List:

  1. Tomorrow on the Runway (Karen Peris/The Innocence Mission)
  2. All Through the Night (Jules Shear)
  3. Shake Sugaree (Elizabeth Cotten)
  4. Back on the Chain Gang (Chrissie Hynde/Pretenders)
  5. When You Go (Jennie Lowe Stearns)
  6. 1000 Black Birds (Tyler Ramsey)

Photo credit: Bill Reynolds

Follow Tyler Ramsey:

Website Facebook Instagram

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us