Former Band of Horses Guitarist To Release New 6-Track EP Featuring Five Striking Cover Songs & One Re-Imagined Original

Listen To Ramsey’s Moving Interpretation of the Pretenders’ “Back on the Chain Gang” via Guitar Player Here

Today, singer-songwriter and guitarist Tyler Ramsey announced the release of his new EP, Found A Picture Of You, out October 16th, 2020 via Fantasy Records. The 6-song EP is an unusual collection of five carefully chosen cover songs (all intriguingly written and/or made famous by female artists) and one re-made original that affirms once again: the former Band of Horses guitarist is an exceedingly rare and precious talent. Guitar Player premiered the arresting lead track, the Pretenders’ classic, “Back on the Chain Gang” – listen HERE.

Pre-order Found A Picture Of You EP HERE

“I love Chrissie Hynde and the Pretenders; I grew up hearing that unique voice on the radio and got hooked on their records,” explains Ramsey. He continues, “This song has a line in it that gets me every time: ‘I found a picture of you/those were the happiest days of my life/like a break in the battle was your part/in the wretched life of a lonely heart.’ I was lucky enough to meet Annie Williams at Bill Reynolds’ studio in Nashville and she sang the gorgeous harmonies on this.”

Produced by Tyler Ramsey and recorded & mixed by (former Band of Horses bassist) Bill Reynolds at Fleetwood Shack in Nashville, TN, Found A Picture Of You is Tyler’s first release since For The Morning, the North Carolinian’s acclaimed debut for Fantasy in 2019. While Tyler’s brilliant fingerstyle playing is the EP’s musical foundation, the five cover songs have been so compellingly re-imagined, it’s like you are hearing them for the first time ever. 

Found A Picture Of You includes Tyler’s deeply affectionate take on The Innocence Mission’s “Tomorrow on the Runway,” with frequent collaborator Thad Cockrell on harmony vocals; a stellar version of Jules Shears’ “All Through the Night,” made famous by Cyndi Lauper’s Top #5 hit in 1984, featuring background vocals from My Morning Jacket’s Carl Broemel; “Shake Sugaree,” the country blues treasure by blues/folk legend (and fellow Carolinian) Elizabeth Cotten, with Billy Alletzhauser on electric guitar and supplying harmony vocals alongside Tyler’s daughter Sylvie Opal Ramsey; the Pretenders’ aforementioned “Back on the Chain Gang,” featuring harmonies by Nashville-based artist Annie Williams; and “When You Go,” a beautifully rendered ballad of aching love and acceptance penned by singer-songwriter Jennie Lowe Stearns featuring Rayna Gellert on fiddle and Broemel on pedal steel and backing vocals. Found A Picture Of You is rounded out with a newly updated version of Tyler’s gorgeous “1000 Black Birds,” which first appeared on his 2011 album, The Valley Wind, featuring background vocals from singer-songwriter (and Fantasy Records labelmate) Avi Kaplan and Jeremy and Jonathan Lister. 

Found A Picture Of You EP Track List:

  1. Tomorrow on the Runway (Karen Peris/The Innocence Mission)
  2. All Through the Night (Jules Shear)
  3. Shake Sugaree (Elizabeth Cotten)
  4. Back on the Chain Gang (Chrissie Hynde/Pretenders)
  5. When You Go (Jennie Lowe Stearns)
  6. 1000 Black Birds (Tyler Ramsey)

Photo credit: Bill Reynolds

Follow Tyler Ramsey:

Website | Facebook | Instagram

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us