Today, legendary singer/songwriter Steve Perry releases his first-ever Christmas album The Season on Fantasy Records; stream/download it  HERE. Co-produced by Perry and engineer Thom Flowers, The Season’s immaculately arranged and richly nuanced sound was inspired by such time-honored holiday albums as Nat King Cole’s The Magic of Christmas.  Steve will host a full album playback of The Season on his YouTube Channel today at 6pm PT, and also participate in a fan chat/Q&A. Catch the event via https://found.ee/SPTheSeasonAlbumPlayback.

Perry comments on the inspiration for The Season, “All the songs on this record were my favorites growing up.  I used to hear them on the Philco radio that my grandmother always had on in the kitchen when she was cooking the most amazing holiday food, and because of that they hold a very emotional place in my heart. I wanted to make sure to record them all in a simple way that honors how I first heard and fell in love with them as a child.”

Mainly recorded at Perry’s home studio, The Season came to life in collaboration with drummer Vinnie Colaiuta (Sting, Joni Mitchell, Frank Zappa) and Dallas Kruse (a multi-instrumentalist who also worked with Perry on his acclaimed 2018 album Traces). While most of the album encompasses an understated sonic palette—piano, strings, upright bass—each track leaves an indelible impact thanks to the soulful sincerity of Perry’s vocal work. “One of the things I love most about those traditional recordings is they’re not coming at you like a rock song—they’re just sitting there quietly and inviting you in,” says Perry. “I’d never sung with that much simplicity before, and it was incredibly thrilling to bring that kind of expression to these songs.”

Ahead of album release Perry unveiled “Winter Wonderland,” watch the animated video HERE and “I’ll Be Home For Christmas.”  Steve’s stirring interpretations of these holiday staples capture their timelessness, while simultaneously putting his own personal spin on each track.   For both artist and audience alike, The Season ultimately serves as a form of emotional time travel, a direct conduit for the kind of memories that sustain the spirit and restore a sense of joyous serenity. “Music has always been something that rescues me in difficult times,” says Perry. “I hope when people hear this record, they’re teleported in the same way I was when I recorded all these songs—I hope it brings them back to those golden moments with their loved ones, and gives them that feeling of joy and connection and comfort that we all need so much.”

One of the most iconic voices in rock & roll history, Steve Perry has captivated generations with the sheer power of his range and extraordinary warmth of his tone. One of Rolling Stone’s 100 Greatest Singers of All Time, he fronted Journey during the band’s most massively successful era and gained entry into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Perry returned to music in 2018 with the release of his Fantasy album TRACES which debuted at #4 on the Billboard album charts and #6 overall – a personal best for his solo work.


  1. The Christmas Song
  2. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
  3. Auld Lang Syne
  4. Winter Wonderland
  5. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve
  6. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  7. Silver Bells

Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

Photo: Myriam Santos

Follow Steve

Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Twitter | Spotify | Apple Music

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us