June’s 8-Track EP Under Cover Features Songs Written by Frank Ocean, John Lennon, Nick Cave, Gillian Welch, Bob Dylan, Joe South, Mazzy Star and Nick Drake 

Listen To June’s Dazzling Cover of Frank Ocean’s “Godspeed” HERE     

Acclaimed GRAMMY-nominated singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Valerie June will release Under Cover – a specially curated 8-track covers collection, available digitally and on CD + vinyl, August 26th, 2022, via Fantasy Records.  Under Cover features extraordinary interpretations of songs by some of June’s favorite artists including previously unreleased versions of Frank Ocean’s “Godspeed,” Joe South’s “Don’t It Make You Want To Go Home,” Gillian Welch’s “Look At Miss Ohio,” and Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ “Into My Arms.” The EP also includes two tracks that appeared on June’s (digital only) The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers Deluxe Edition: John Lennon’s “Imagine,” and Nick Drake’s “Pink Moon.” Bob Dylan’s transcendent “Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here with You,” (previously available as an Amazon Original exclusive) and June’s captivating reading of Mazzy Star’s “Fade Into You,” released last month, rounds out the set.

Listen to “Godspeed”(Frank Ocean cover) HERE

Pre-Order Under Cover: HERE

As one of American music’s most admired sonic experimentalists, June approaches these carefully chosen songs with equal parts reverence and child-like freedom.  It’s a one-of-kind balance between modern and traditional influences that makes her a such special artistic force and these timeless songs her own.

Valerie June’s most recent full-length album, 2021’s acclaimed The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions for Dreamers, was one of the year’s most celebrated releases. Produced by June and Jack Splash, the album is “a psychedelic tour de force” that is “powerfully, elegantly subversive” (UNCUT) and “a stunning song cycle of redemption and reclamation” (Rolling Stone). June’s spellbinding vocals and infectious sense of wonder ground the record, and “her every quiver bespeaks emotional honesty” (New Yorker).

The follow-up to her 2013 breakthrough, Pushin’ Against A Stone, and the widely adored The Order of Time — a 2017 effort that earned the admiration of Bob Dylan and landed on best-of-the-year lists — The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers is a landmark work for the Memphis-born, Brooklyn-based auteur. The album’s “Call Me A Fool,” featuring Stax legend Carla Thomas, was nominated for Best American Roots Song at this year’s GRAMMY Awards, the first nomination of June’s illustrious career.

Under Cover Track List: 

  1. “Pink Moon” (Nick Drake)
  2. “Fade Into You” (Mazzy Star)
  3. “Look At Miss Ohio” (Gillian Welch)
  4. “Godspeed” (Frank Ocean)
  5. “Imagine” (John Lennon)
  6. “Don’t It Make You Want To Go Home” (Joe South)
  7. “Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You” (Bob Dylan)
  8. “Into My Arms” (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds) 

Catch Valerie June ON TOUR: 
7/9 – Palomino Festival – Pasadena, CA
7/10 – Henry Miller Memorial Library – Big Sur, CA
7/11 – Lagunitas Brewing Company – Petaluma, CA
7/24 – Newport Folk Festival – Newport, RI
7/29 – Kaslo Jazz Fest – Kaslo, Canada
7/31 – Knitting Factory – Spokane, WA
8/2 – Capital Ballroom – Victoria, BC
8/3 – Alma Mater – Tacoma, WA
8/4 – Hult Center for the Performing Arts – Eugene, OR
8/5-8/7 – Pickathon – Happy Valley, OR
8/18-8/21 – Green Man 2022 – Crickhowell, UK
8/23 – Blues Kitchen – Manchester, UK
8/24 – Thekla – Bristol, UK
9/2 – George, WA – The Gorge Amphitheatre
9/17 – XpoNential Music Festival – Camden, NJ

Photo Credit: Renata Raksha

High-Res Download

Follow Valerie June:

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us