Track from SHE & HIM’S First New Album in 6 Years MELT AWAY: A TRIBUTE TO BRIAN WILSON OUT NOW

Today, Zooey Deschanel (She) & M. Ward (Him) have shared an animated lyric video for “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” a track from their newly released album Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson. The cut-out animation reimagines the duo in paper doll form – accompanied by a slew of animals singing in syncopated harmony.

Watch the “Wouldn’t it be Nice” Animated Lyric Video HERE  

Listen to Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson HERE

“There’s been no shortage of similar homages to the Beach Boys icon over the decades, but it’s the charm and evident love for Wilson’s work that helps She & Him’s latest to really shine.” — Rolling Stone UK

“A dreamy 14-track album of covers, including a track featuring Wilson himself.” — VULTURE

“They have recorded a sublime covers album, Melt Away, which dives deep into Wilson’s back catalogue, drawing on tracks from across his storied career.” — The Sun . 5

“A Brian Wilson tribute is hardly the most novel of notions, but for their seventh album, She & Him have taken it beyond mere homage.” — MOJO ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

“Heavenly retro pop.” — The Mirror

She & Him’s seventh studio album is a loving, LP-length tribute to one of the greatest living American songwriters and singers, Brian Wilson. Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson finds Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward diving deep into the legendary artist’s extensive songbook, offering fascinating and delectable new spins on time-honored classics and overlooked gems alike. These fourteen covers are infused with the familiar magic that She & Him fans know and love, opening a new window into Wilson’s iconic catalog. Wilson even features on a song with Zooey and M. Ward for the album, “Do It Again.” The band have enjoyed a friendship, and mutual appreciation, with Wilson over the years and She & Him was previously a guest vocalist on his 2015 album, No Pier Pressure. 

“In the spring of 2020, we started a list of our favorite Brian songs — a very long list,” the duo explains. “We chose songs without any regard to their chart performance. The obscure ones hit us just as hard as the more popular songs — and all are ripe for re-imagining, re-interpreting, and re-inventing. Brian writes songs of beauty and loneliness and vulnerability better than anyone — and by sequencing them next to popular songs of confidence and love and fun, it creates a more complete picture of life on earth.

Brian Wilson comments on ‘Melt Away:

Zooey and Matt did such mind-blowing versions of our songs. The harmonies are beautiful and right on. I love this record!”

She & Him Press Photo - Melt Away: A Tribute to Brian Wilson - Photo Credit: Chantal Anderson

Photo credit: Chantal Anderson


  1. Darlin’
  2. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
  3. Til I Die
  4. Deirdre
  5. Melt Away
  6. Good To My Baby
  7. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder)
  8. Don’t Worry Baby
  9. This Whole World
  10. Kiss Me, Baby
  11. Do It Again ft. Brian Wilson
  12. Heads You Win, Tails I Lose
  13. Please Let Me Wonder
  14. Meant For You

Keep up with She & Him:

Web/ Instagram/ YouTube/ Twitter/ Facebook

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us