Today, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats premieres the official music video for their knockout single “Survivor.” Directed by longtime collaborator Brantley Gutierrez, the video features professional boxer Prince Charles Martin who was an IBF Heavyweight Champion of The World and has 25 KOs in 31 fights. Following its release last week, “Survivor” is currently the #1 most added track at Triple A Radio as well as #3 most added at Alternative Radio. The song is also the first track to be revealed from the band’s third studio album, The Future, set for release on November 5 via Stax Records. Watch/share the video HERE or below.

“I’ve been friends with Brantley for years and we have been talking about making a video like ‘Survivor’ for 14 of those years,” notes Rateliff. “I’ve always loved his work be it video or photography. He has an amazing eye and the ability to make you feel comfortable in front of any lens.”

Gutierrez furthers, “As soon as Nathaniel sent me the track, the boxing imagery sprang to mind, but I wanted to try and take a different approach to a classic story. I tried to imagine what Raging Bull or Rocky might have looked like if Wes Anderson had dreamed them up. I’ve known the band for such a long time, and they are such funny guys with real comedic timing. So, I tried to create fun little parts for them to play.”

In addition, Rateliff and Martin teamed up to release “The Survivor Fight Tee” to benefit The Marigold Project, Rateliff’s foundation dedicated to economic, social, and racial justice. Coincidentally, Martin and Rateliff were both born in Missouri while Martin was raised in Colorado where Rateliff has lived for the past 20 years. Fans can purchase the shirt HERE

The Marigold Project is proud to support Creative Reaction Lab in Missouri, which was founded in support of the uprising in Ferguson. Today, Creative Reaction Lab is building a youth-led, community-centered movement of a new type of Civic Leader: Redesigners for Justice.

The new music caps off a run of career milestones for Rateliff and the band, including a debut on “Saturday Night Live” featuring the premiere performance of “Redemption,” written and featured in the film Palmer starring Justin Timberlake, as well as an appearance on “CMT Crossroads” with country singer/songwriter Margo Price. Rateliff’s “Tiny Desk (Home) Concert” recently premiered at NPR Music, as well.

For The Future, Rateliff and The Night Sweats escaped to his new Colorado studio to write an album’s worth of songs, shedding light on their unique observations and songwriting reflecting on our current times. While recognizable, the new work has evolved and pushes the band to a new level.

“I look at the album overall as a big question,” notes Rateliff. “When I was writing the record we were in the middle of a pandemic and our future looked pretty bleak. I just continue to try to write from a place of hope. Then my own neurosis, and maybe being a Libra gets in the way, and I can’t make up my mind. There is this constant back and forth battle in me personally and I am sure that comes out in my writing.”

Recorded at Rateliff’s own Broken Creek Studio outside of Denver, The Future was produced by Bradley Cook (Bon Iver, Kevin Morby, The War on Drugs) and R.M.B.—the production trio of Rateliff, Patrick Meese (The Night Sweats) and James Barone (Beach House)—who were the team behind Rateliff’s acclaimed 2020 solo album And It’s Still Alright. Additional production was added by musician, engineer and producer Elijah Thompson (Father John Misty, Richard Swift) while Jenny Lewis, Jess Wolfe (Lucius) and Amelia Meath (Sylvan Esso) contributed backing vocals.

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats are Rateliff (vocals, guitar), Joseph Pope III (bass), Meese (drums, percussion, keys), Luke Mossman (guitar), Mark Shusterman (organ, keys), Andreas Wild (saxophone), Daniel Hardaway (trumpet) and Jeff Dazey (saxophone).

The band’s self-titled debut album was a breakout success. Now certified Gold in the U.S., it has sold over a million records worldwide. Their sophomore album Tearing at the Seams debuted in March 2018 to widespread critical acclaim and included three singles which hit #1 at Triple A Radio. Last year, Rateliff released his first solo album in seven years, And It’s Still Alright, via Stax Records. It peaked at #3 on iTunes’ “Top Albums” chart, debuted at #1 on Billboard’s “Americana/Folk” chart, landed at #2 on their “Current Rock” chart and resided at #1 on the Americana Albums Chart for eight consecutive weeks. Earlier this year, Rateliff released a new live album, Red Rocks 2020, which was recorded in an empty Red Rocks Amphitheatre during Rateliff’s mid-September run of socially distanced shows.


  1. The Future
  2. Survivor
  3. Face Down In The Moment 
  4. Something Ain’t Right
  5. Love Me Till I’m Gone
  6. Baby I Got Your Number
  7. What If I 
  8. I’m On Your Side 
  9. So Put Out 
  10. Oh, I
  11. Love Don’t

Leave a Reply

©2024 Fantasy Records. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. | Terms of Use | Accessibility Statement| Contact Us